Search This Blog

09 November 2011

Austrian player Manfred Spahn wins the DeepStack Open Vienna 2011!

After three days of intense poker, Austrian player Manfred Spahn won the Deepstack Open Vienna 2011 after successfully beating runner-up Thomas Panek. Spahn proudly walked out of Montesino with a whopping €51,840!

For its second edition at the Montesino in Vienna, the DSO broke last year’s attendance record with a total of 507 players from all over Europe taking part in the Main Event. Over the four days of tournament between the 3rd and the 6th of November, the Austrian capital became home to a large number of German, Austrian, Hungarian, French, Swiss, Italian, Romanian and Polish poker players all striving to win the 5th leg of the DSO 2011. The field of players also included pros such as Croatian Dragan Galic and international Tournament Director Thomas Kremser.

With a starting stack of 50,000 chips and a €550 buy-in, players waited eagerly until 8pm Saturday night to finally witness 76 of them finishing in the money.

The tournament finally came to an end just after 1am on Monday morning after a final one hour head’s up.

Thanks to the special promotions that reward their players, three DSO VIP players who finished just before the money (77th, 85th and 95th) still took €680 home. Six more DSO VIP players also won laptops, iPad and Bose headsets. All the details about the DSO VIP promotions are available online.

On Sunday, German player Karsten Philipp and Serbian player Zoran Mariukovil won the €300 and €200 side events. All players were also able to enjoy a large number of cash game tables starting from €1/€1.

The next and last stage of the DeepStack Open 2011 will be held in Marrakech from the 16th -18th December at the Casino de Marrakech.

Final results of the DSO Vienna 2011, Main event, €550 buy-in:
  1. Manfred Spahn, Austria – €51,840
  2. Thomas Panek, Austria –€32,520
  3. Michael Leng, Germany – €21,300
  4. Siegfried Rath, Austria – €14,800
  5. Istvan Csabai, Austria - €10,760
  6. Peter Szinek, Slovakia - €8,180
  7. Jakub Gluszkiewicz, Poland – €6,820
  8. Marc Cahenzli, Swiss– €5,660
  9. Lars Brandenburg, Germany – €4,820

No comments:

Post a Comment